Jamal Aliyev (cello) and Jâms Coleman (piano) – 8 June

Bridge : Sonata for Cello and Piano, H 125
Bloch : From Jewish Life for cello and piano
Brahms : Cello Sonata No.2 in F, Op.99
Chopin : Polonaise Brilliante in C, Op.3

Jamal Aliyev has performed widely in Europe and further afield as a concerto soloist and in cello recitals. He made his Proms debut in 2017, and has appeared on BBC Radio. Jamal is the recipient of a number of prizes and awards.  Jâms Coleman enjoys a rich and varied musical life performing as a solo pianist, chamber musician, vocal accompanist and musical director.

Bridge’s Cello Sonata, a wartime work of 1913-17, is notable for its lyrical beauty.

From Jewish Life, composed by Ernest Bloch in 1924, explores the whole range of the cello, with a distinctive atmosphere deriving from Eastern European Ashkenazi modality. Brahms’ Sonata is one of the great late romantic works for cello, and we end with Chopin’s entertaining Polonaise.

March 2019
Comments Off on Jamal Aliyev (cello) and Jâms Coleman (piano) – 8 June
This entry was posted in Uncategorised. Bookmark the permalink.