Sacconi Quartet with Philip Dukes (viola) | 9 May


Roxana Panufnik · Heartfelt  (new commission for the Sacconi Quartet)

Beethoven · String Quartet in F minor, Op.95

Mozart · String Quintet in G minor, K.516

We are delighted to welcome the ever-popular Sacconi Quartet back to St Peter’s.

Sacconi Quartet

Sacconi Quartet

For this concert they are joined by Philip Dukes to play Mozart’s quintet K.516, a work of which Tchaikovsky said “No one has ever known as well as Mozart how to interpret so exquisitely in music the sense of resigned and inconsolable sorrow.”

Beethoven himself gave the title “Serioso” to his Op.95 work. It is one of his most compact quartets, in which he was experimenting with new compositional techniques. For this reason, he commented that it “is written for a small circle of connoisseurs and is never to be performed in public”.

Roxanna Panufnik was born in London of Polish roots, and studied at the Royal Academy of Music. She has become known as a gifted composer with a distinctive voice, serious, bold and appealing, interweaving direct emotionality with elegant harmonies. Whilst much of her music is for choir, she has also worked extensively with string quartets; ‘Heartfelt‘ has been commissioned by the Sacconi Quartet, and we are privileged to be hearing it in advance of its official première at the Sacconi Festival later in May.

To purchase tickets online for this concert …
Book now

To purchase a season ticket …
Book now

For other methods of purchasing tickets, follow this link.

January 2020
Comments Off on Sacconi Quartet with Philip Dukes (viola) | 9 May
This entry was posted in Uncategorised. Bookmark the permalink.